Flamenco Guitar: Flamenco Communities Near You

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Leah Kruszewski
ModeratorInstructor
Flamenco Guitar: Flamenco Communities Near You

While flamenco originated in the south of Spain, its interest has expanded all over the world during the last century.   Flamenco certainly continues to thrive in Andalusia, but the international interest in the music and dance been vital to flamenco's continued growth and expansion.  The student body of the flamenco school where I studied (the Fundación Cristina Heeren) is made up of about half Spanish students, and half foreigners like myself.  Performing flamenco artists often make the bulk of their living touring internationally, and the venues that host nightly performances in Seville are attended largely by flamenco-loving visitors.  

What part of the world are you learning flamenco from?  Is there a flamenco community where you live?  What concerts, workshops, and other flamenco happenings have come your way recently? 

There's a bustling flamenco community in Washington D.C. and an internationally-known annual flamenco festival in Albuquerque New Mexico.   Several of my current students live in or near San Francisco, which seems to have a vibrant and active flamenco community. 

Could some of my San Francisco students share a link or article of recent flamenco events?  

What about my students in Canada and Australia

I would be excited to hear from some of you : ) It would be really cool if some of my online students ran into each other in person at flamenco events in their home town. 

Cliff Clasen

I am in the SF Bay Area and attended an event with Juan Del Gastor back in July.  It was put on by Bay Area Flamenco and was very entertaining!  Their 14th annual Flamenco Festival is in Feb and I have tickets to see Nazaret Reyes on Feb 2nd.   Should be a great time!

Have also wanted to check out The Flamenco Room at the Thirsty Bear in SF.  Apparently they have Flamenco every Sunday night.