Lessonface

The Embodied Voice

The Embodied Voice

COURSE DESCRIPTION
Our voice has the ability to gather and reflect great nuance and subtlety. In addition to providing a clear, embodied approach to freeing the voice, this class will explore the vast array of un-tapped vocal colors available to us when we explore the connection between emotion, breath and sound.
 
Topics covered (taught through a combination of lecture and exercises w/live student(s):

  • The free voice: introduction to vocal alignment through the Systems of Breath, Articulation (vowel placement) & Resonance (directing the breath)
  • Understanding the voice holistically: integrating/coordinating breath, body & voice
  • Posture and body alignment: the body as the resonating cavity of the voice
  • Opening the resonators and clarifying tone; vocal energy and projection
  • Expanding our vocal pallet and sound imagination
  • Connecting emotion to vocal color: opening the pathways to primal, deeply felt, human sounds

ABOUT BISAN TORON

Bisan Toron is an internationally acclaimed vocal artist and voice teacher.  She studied classical voice performance at NYU and holds a masters in Ethnomusicology from the University of London, School of Oriental and African Studies. She did further studies in voice and improvisation with the Roy Hart-based company, Pantheatre in Paris, France. Her music is informed by a multitude of cultures and vocal traditions, which she threads with vocal articulations that arise from the moment. 

$35.00
ENROLLMENT INFORMATION

You may attend the course in-person, at the Lessonface Studio at 451 West St., NYC, or online. Choose your preference when you enroll, above. All enrolled students will be able to watch the recording of the class, which will be available within 48 hours of the live class time.


WHEN
The live class will occur from 3-4:30 pm Eastern | 2-3:30 pm Central | 1 - 2:30 pm Mountain | noon-1:30 pm Pacific | 7-8:30 pm GMT on April 29, 2018.

LEVEL
This class starts from zero! So you are welcome if you have no prior knowledge, or if you have just a bit but want to take it to the next level. All genres are welcome.

HOW IT WORKS
This class will be taught from the Lessonface Studio in the West Village of Manhattan to an in-studio and live online audience. Students are able to attend by physically coming into the studio OR by joining over the Lessonface high performing video conference platform. The class is covered by the Lessonface Guarantee - let us know if you are not satisfied for any reason within two days of the class and we will refund your tuition in full.

CONTACT
If you have questions or concerns, don't hesitate to be in touch by chatting at us within our office hours, calling 1-800-211-7058, or emailing jess@lessonface.com.