Woodturning: Plate with Basket Illusion Rim

Woodturning: Plate with Basket Illusion Rim with Jeff Hornung

Learn to turn a wooden platter that resembles a woven basket with a colored, beaded rim. In your own shop, with simple tools, discover how to create personalized jigs from scrap wood and then use them to turn a platter that tricks and delights the eyes. Gain a deeper understanding of wood choice, pattern design, and shape, and try out applying color and wood-burned embellishment as you explore your own unique style. Students should have access to a lathe, hand tools, a band saw, and come with basic knowledge of turning a platter or bowl.

This class is presented in collaboration with John C. Campbell Folk School and Lessonface. Class capacity is 14 students. Registration closes on March 15, 2024. Students are invited to attend a large group Orientation and Closing Ceremony to connect with various classes online.


Class Materials

Woodturning lathe, woodturning chuck, appropriate bowl turning tools, Live center, drive spur or woodworm screw and at least 2 blanks appropriate for bowl turning. Fresh or green wood is suggested but not required. On the second bowl you will be provided with a list of hobby type acrylic paints to recreate a faux metal look.

Age Range

Adults

Skill Level

Beginner/Intermediate

About the John C. Campbell Folk School & Lessonface

Since 1925, the John C. Campbell Folk School in Brasstown, North Carolina has transformed lives, and brought people together in a nurturing environment for experiences in learning and community life that spark self-discovery. Since 2012, Lessonface has connected more than 30,000 students with over 2,500 great teachers for live music, language, and arts lessons online, delivering on our mission to help students achieve their goals while treating teachers equitably.


$120.00
Space is limited. Enroll now to reserve your spot.

Already signed up? Log In Here

When

The class will meet on Saturday and Sunday, March 16 and 17.

On Saturday, the class meets from 10am-1pm ET | 7am-10am PT, then a meetup from 4-5pm ET | 1-2pm PT.

On Sunday, the class meets from 9am-12pm ET | 6-9am PT, then a meetup from 3-4pm ET | 12-1pm PT.

Enrolled students receive 30-day access to the video recordings of the classes.

Mar
16th
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM EDT
Woodturning: Plate with Basket Illusion Rim
Jeff Hornung
Mar
17th
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM EDT
Woodturning: Plate with Basket Illusion Rim
Jeff Hornung

How It Works

Enroll above to save your spot in the class. Lessonface will send you a confirmation right away, and a Zoom link 24 hours before the class start time. You can log into your Lessonface dashboard to access class materials, communicate with your instructor, join the live Zoom session, and access the class recordings and chat transcript afterward. Class enrollments may be cancelled for full refund up to five days before the class start date, with the exception of the materials kit fees which are non-refundable.


Students Say

⬆️ Back to top


Brian M. on March 24, 2023
Class: Woodturning: Plate with Basket Illusion Rim



Amanda D. on March 24, 2023
Class: Woodturning: Plate with Basket Illusion Rim

Lovely! I love the ability to have done all this from home. Jeff is an excellent teacher and the class was well paced and accessible- not just digitally but tools required etc.



Sandra F. on March 24, 2023
Class: Woodturning: Plate with Basket Illusion Rim

Loved it



Verified Student on March 2, 2022
Class: Hearts on Fire Bowl Turning

Excellent



Carol H. on March 17, 2021
Class: A Tale of Two Turnings: African Style Calabash Bowls

Class was wonderful; I learned a lot, particularly as a result of Jeff's willinginess to spend time talking about sharpening tools and the correct way to sharpen. This has become a real hurdle to my improvement in turning, so I was grateful for that time.



Bill B. on March 17, 2021
Class: A Tale of Two Turnings: African Style Calabash Bowls

Well done! Jeff Was very knowledgeable in the wood turning field and very helpful.

Book 1:1 online lessons with Jeff Hornung on their Lessonface profile.

Jeff Hornung

Jeff Hornung

I am a full time woodturner, teacher, artist and creative. I teach private lessons as well as virtual demos both nationally and internationally. For the last 5 years I've been one of the primary Woodturning instructors at the Craft Alliance School of Art and Design in St. Louis MO and have been an assistant instructor for Kirk DeHeer at the John C Campbell Folk School.

Loading cart contents...
Load contents