Resources for Self-Taught Students

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Leah Kruszewski
ModeratorInstructor
Resources for Self-Taught Students

Some students have years of experience playing guitar, but have never had a teacher before.  These students are often impressive players and have excellent practice habits, but may have some peculiar gaps in their music knowledge.  

For example, a current student of mine enjoys learning flamenco solos from music notation.  Before taking classes with me, he had taught himself to figure out melodies, chords, and left hand fingerings using music notation.  Yet he doesn’t understand rhythmic notation. Thus, he often comes to class with his pieces learned with perfect fingerings, yet out of time.  I could start over from the beginning and re-teach him music notation.  But he’s a busy, working adult and already struggles to make time for lessons.  He understandably prefers to use his lessons to focus on learning music he can play, and would rather find a way to learn rhythmic notation on his own.   I found this website for him.  At the end of the explanations, the website summarizes all the rhythmic values taught with the below compilation (there's an audio file on the webpage).  The page in general is one of the most concise yet complete explanation of rhythmic notation I’ve ever seen.

[[{"fid":"32236","view_mode":"teaser","fields":{},"type":"media","field_deltas":{"1":{}},"attributes":{"class":"media-element file-teaser","data-delta":"1"}}]]