Gender-based instruments? How to change the perceptions....

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Kate Hicks
Instructor
Gender-based instruments? How to change the perceptions....

Only boys play trumpets and girls play the flute! We've all heard this before, and have seen it---especially in band. Also, middle school choir classes are just full of girls, with a smattering of a few boys. What can we do as teachers to change this perception? As a flute teacher, I've seen more and more boys play the flute, which is fantastic. But, there still is a persistant perception of gender-based instruments. I've heard some boys quitting the flute in high school, only to switch to the trumpet or trombone. It would be interesting to hear other teachers' experiences and perceptions of this.

Warner Iveris
Instructor

Hi Katherine,

The guitar world is a bit male dominated as well.

I try to give my students plenty of excellent guitarists to listen to of both genders. I try to instill a team spirit, so that everyone is working together to learn and get better. I make the kids teach each other so that they interact and learn to appreciate what their peers do well. Basically I try to keep everyone focussed on getting better at the guitar, instead of competing with one another. I use school competitions as performance opportunities to learn from, rather than evaluations of their ability.

This tends to work and I generally have happy students and happy parents. If I do encounter a student who does want to try and compare girls and boys or bring others in the group down, I try to shut it down as soon as possible. I don’t let a negative comment go unanswered even once because even innocuous comments can create distance or make other students feel isolated.

When I reprimand a student for a negative comment, I do it in a firm but dispassionate way and move on. I simply tell them we don’t talk that way in this class and move on. Usually they will stop, but sometimes it takes a few reminders.