Calling All Luthiers

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
Leah Kruszewski
ModeratorInstructor
Calling All Luthiers

Have you built your own guitar?  Can you tell us about it?  What sort of guitar is it? 

How did you learn?  Are there any books, videos, or courses that you would recommend?  What sorts of tools do you need to get started?  

What did you learn in the process of building your guitar?  What was the hardest part?  What would you do differently next time?  Are you thinking of (or maybe already building) a second or a third guitar?  

Michael Rodriguez
Michael Rodriguez

I am an amateur luthier. I build my first guitar as a flamenco guitar. I used Sapele (African Mahogany) for the back and sides, Spruce top, Walnut for the fret board and purfling (fiddly bit along the edge) and Quilted Maple for the neck. It was a Herculean task that took many months. I would say the most difficult part of the process was being patient with myself as I struggled to understand the method of construction. In the end it came out great, but there were a few mistakes that became apparent over time.

1. I now understand why they saddle has those wings that stick out. They add stiffness without adding bulk to the saddle which would affect tone. I made my wings a hair too thin and the bridge started to separate from the sound board. I had to epoxy it back down.

2. I made the back slightly too thin. This is such a trade off. If the back and sides are too thick it will dampen the resonance that you get from the wood reflecting the sound back out of the sound hole. It would sound muffled. When I say too thin, I mean by a few hundredths  of an inch.  My back split slightly in the winter when the air dried out. I repaired it with epoxy and now it is stabilized.