Buying Guitars Online

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Leah Kruszewski
ModeratorInstructor
Buying Guitars Online

Hi!  Has anyone (student or teacher) had success purchasing guitar online?  I've had several students ask me where I'd recommend looking, and I can't usually help much.  I've never bought a guitar online, and wouldn't want to personally because I need to play an instrument to know if I like it.   But I understand that sometimes online may be the best option.  

Is there a particular vendor you trust and have had good experience with?  Do they specialize in certain types of guitars (ie, electric, acoustic, classical)?  Do they have a fair return policy?  And do they let you return it if you simply don't like it, or only if there is a defect?   Any particular advice you can offer on making sure you make a smart decision?  

I have had a lot of good experiences buying and selling equipment and instruments on sweetwater.com and reverb.com 

Of course, if you are looking for a higher end instrument, playing it in person is always a safer bet, but these websites have some useful features that protect buyers and are a lot safer than websites like craigslist and eBay, where I have also had many bad experiences. There is no substitute for playing an instrument in real life, but if it is not an option or there is a better deal, these websites can be generally trusted. A few things you may want to look out for:

1. Scams - if the deal seems too good to be true, it probably is for some reason or another. If a seller is asking for money or trying to communicate outside of the website's platform, it's probably some kind of a scam.

2. Consistency - it is probably safer typically to purchase instruments that represent a larger brand so that even if you cannot test it out in person, you can test out the exact model somewhere in person to make sure the instrument itself is a good fit.