Metronome Exercises

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ben McPeek
Instructor
Metronome Exercises

Hi! 

I'm new to Lesson face and wanted my first topic to be an open discussion about different and creative ways to use the metronome to develop a stronger sense of time. Time and rhythm is something I have always gravitated towards and feel really passionate about. Here are a few exercises I do to really challenge my sensitivity to time. 

First and foremost when I am focusing on time and rhythm I tend to remove any tonguing to force my fingers to create my time. This also helps create a more universal tone throughout the full range of my instrument. 

1. Only having the metronome click on beat 4 of each measure while practicing. This is really useful while improvising over tunes because having the metronome on beat 4 implies swing feel. By only having the reference of the metronome on an odd beat such as the down beat of 4 of each measure it forces you to keep yourself accountable for your own time. The more advanced version of this is having the metronome click on beat 4 of every other measure. It is important to take small steps to adopting this way of practicing. When I began using this technique I improvised only walking bass lines (quarter notes) to make sure I was able to truly hear the time and not be guessing. 

2. Only having the metronome click on an up beat of each measure. This is similar to the first exercise but in my opinion significantly harder. I like to put the metronome on the + of 1 and try and play bebop heads. This again reinforces your sensitivity to time. Having the metronome on an up beat forces you to subdivide every single beat with extensive focus and detail. I tend to practice this around 20-40 bpm.