Tips For Aspiring Jazz Vocalists

1 post / 0 new
Jim Spencer
Instructor
Tips For Aspiring Jazz Vocalists

Greetings Jazz Vocalists:

I'm Jim Spencer,  an LA industry artist developer and jazz vocal coach with 30 years performing and teaching experience.   I'm also a jazz music programmer for the international radio podcasts  COCKTAIL NATION  at cocktailnation.net.    The show has free podcasts with interviews with jazz vocalists,  and is a retro cocktail lounge style show playing:  jazz vocalists, cocktail pianists,  easy listening orchestral, movie soundtracks and tiki exotica.   I highly recommend this show for new jazz vocalists to discover 1000s of new recording jazz vocalists artists and legends.  

Some thoughts for new jazz vocalists:

1.  COLLECT JAZZ FAKE/REAL BOOKS:  Many  jazz leads can be downloaded for free from the internet.  Others may be purchased at your local music store or on Amazon.  Jazz fake books are your first introduction to Great American Songbook repertoire.  You will want to become a master of knowing the following:

(song,  composer/lyricist,  if the song was featured in a musical,  decade of the song,  and any artists associated with recording the song)  Here is an example:  "My Funny Valentine" from the musical BABES IN ARMS by Richard Rodgers/Lorenz Hart (1930s).  Famous jazz recording Chet Baker.

2.  Work WITH YOUR VOCAL COACH ON JAZZ STYLING:  This means everything from mic technique, to delayed vibrato,  head resonance timbre,  portamento/slide, riffs and improvs.  Vocal jazz covers many sub-genres such as:  swing, scat, bop,  cool/torch song,  smooth jazz,  acid jazz/r and b,  bossa nova/Latin

3.   PICK UP MY BOOK  THE LOUNGE MUSIC COMPANION:  My 500 page encyclopedia includes 1000s of bio entries with discography for jazz vocalists.  The back of the book has very rare interviews with some of my jazz vocalist colleagues and friends such as:  Sue Raney,  Anne Phillips, Lola Albright and many others.